Decoupage: my wonderful new hobby

It’s been a while since I wrote anything in my blog! I feel so happy to be back here again and tell everyone what I have been up to! Well, lots of things have been happening in the university and at home! But, while those things were happening – I was busy learning about something really amazing. And this amazing thing can be described in one word: DECOUPAGE. I am sure most of you know what this is, but just to give it a good description – I am posting one here from the wikipedia.

Decoupage (or découpage) is the art of decorating an object by gluing colored paper cutouts onto it in combination with special paint effects, gold leaf and so on. Commonly an object like a small box or an item of furniture is covered by cutouts from magazines or from purpose-manufactured papers. Each layer is sealed with varnishes (often multiple coats) until the “stuck on” appearance disappears and the result looks like painting or inlay work. The traditional technique used 30–40 layers of varnish which were then sanded to a polished finish. This was known in 18th century England as the art of Japanning after its presumed origins.

Thank you wikipedia! Well, the easiest way to decorate with decoupage is by using paper napkins. You take the third layer of the napkin with the pattern on it and glue it to any surface. The best way is to spray paint your surface any neutral color. Than you glue your napkin (or a piece of it) to your surface with a help of mod podge and after it has dried – you put a couple of layers more. And it is done! Decoupage really gives you an amazing opportunity to use your imagination. So far I have made the whole bunch of little containers where you can store all your instruments, pencils and pens, brushes, scissors, etc! I have made lots of candle holders. My favorite one was when I made decoupage on a simple IKEA plate and than added a picture of me and my son. Than I put some glitter to the edges of the plate and here you go – it looks like amazing wall art with your family picture on – something you can use to decorate any empty space on your walls. Check it out: Image

 

2 thoughts on “Decoupage: my wonderful new hobby

Leave a Reply

